Okay

I realize I have completely ignored this blog for almost the entirety of my pregnancy, and it has been partially intentional. It’s not that there haven’t been things to write about; it’s that I wasn’t sure I wanted to use this place to talk about what I’m becoming more and more confident will be my take-home baby. I’ve just been kind of lurking on blogs though and not posting much myself.

So, why the sudden urge to write? Mostly because I’ve been diagnosed with placenta previa and am hoping for some reassurance that everything will be fine.

I am 18 weeks pregnant today and had my anatomy scan this morning. The good news is that our baby girl looks fantastic! We got to see her on-screen for nearly an hour, and I had to keep reminding myself that it was our baby up there. It seemed very surreal.

The news I am waiting to hear back from the doctor on, is that it looks like the placenta is partially covering my cervix. Of course, the technician didn’t divulge too much info, and only told me when I prompted her. I have no idea what this means, and when my doctor will call. Has anyone ever dealt with this, or know someone who has? I know there’s lots of time for it to move, and that having a c-section if it doesn’t is not the end of the world. But I was kind of hoping that after everything that has happened that I would have a complication-free pregnancy.

Any encouraging stories out there are much appreciated.

9 thoughts on “Okay

  1. marwil

    Good to hear from you. And congrats on having a baby girl, how exciting! Well, I don’t know anything really about this condition, but hope you have got some good information from your Doctor by now. How frustrating to have to wait for it not knowing what it can mean. Keep us posted. Sending hugs.

    Reply
  2. Kitten

    My SIL had partial placenta previa, right around 22 weeks or so. I don’t know all the details, but it resolved on its own by the time she went into labor. No problems during delivery. I hope yours turns out to be nothing to worry about!

    Reply
  3. Kimberly

    Had a good friend that had it. Most if the time it totally resolves on it’s own. Sometimes it dosent and you have to have a c section if it is fully covered the cervix. Some people bleed. While all these things suck, they have nothing to do with the health and growth of the baby!! So glad he was looking great today!

    Reply
  4. marwil

    Hey, just saw your comment over at another blog. You had your baby right? Well, huge congratulations 🙂 hope you are doing well.

    Reply
  5. YeahScience!

    Omg I can’t believe I’ve missed out on this amazing news about the pregnancy!! So exciting… and if I could go back in time, I would have definitely reassured you about those betas 😉

    But also, placenta previa is really not a big deal — at least that how it seems in this community. I can’t think of a single case where it’s ended up causing any problems. And as long as you feel you’re in good hands and the docs are paying close attention, that’s all you can do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

